About the Secretary

Jim Condos, of Montpelier, was first elected as Vermont’s 38th Secretary of State in 2010.

Secretary Condos has over 30 years of public service:

  • South Burlington City Council - 1989-2007 (Vice Chair 1995-1999, Chair 1999-2007)
  • Vermont State Senate - 4 terms from 2001-2008
    • Chair of Senate Education (2003-2004)
    • Chair of Senate Government Operations (2005-2006)

His private sector career included over 30 years of business experience: a Fortune 100 company, a family-owned $30+ million Vermont distribution company, and a regulated utility.

Since taking office in 2011, Secretary Condos has transformed the office from a paper driven system to a 21st Century digital environment. He has been a longtime champion for openness, accountability, and transparency in government, and has worked to ensure that Vermont leads the nation by expanding voting rights to eligible voters.

Secretary Condos actively represents Vermont on the national level serving on:

  • National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) since 2011.
    • Executive Board since 2013
    • President (July 2018 – July 2019)
    • President-elect
    • Treasurer
    • NASS Cybersecurity Task Force
    • State Heritage Committee (Co-Chair)
    • Other committees include: Business Identity Theft Task Force, Elections, Presidential Primary, Voter Participation, and Business Services Committees.

Secretary Condos works closely with the U.S. Department of Homeland Security Elections Critical Infrastructure Coordinating Council and is Co-Chair of the Council of State Governments Policy Committee on Overseas & Military Voting initiatives. He is considered a national leader on election security, and works diligently in Vermont, and nationally, to ensure the security and integrity of our elections.

Other statewide and national public service includes:

  • National League of Cities (NLC) Board of Directors (2005-2006)
    • Energy, Environment & Natural Resources Policy Committee
    • NLC Immigration Task Force
    • NLC EENR Policy Committee
    • NLC Clean Air Task Force
  • Vermont League of Cities and Towns (VLCT) Board of Directors

The Secretary's local public service includes the Chittenden County Solid Waste District, Vermont Public Transit Advisory Council, Chittenden County Metropolitan Planning Organization, Chittenden County Regional Planning Commission, and Chittenden County Transportation Authority.

This page was last updated: 2019-11-01