Vermont Secretary of State Kids Pages

Get Around: All about Vermont

Emblems & Vermont State Flag
Places to Visit
State Song
VT Firsts
Sea Monsters in Vermont
Business & Industry
New song: Freedom and Unity

Vermont Government
Town Meeting
Elected Offices
How a Bill Becomes a Law
State House Tours
Secretary of State's Job
You Can Make a Difference!

What's New
Fun Facts
Student Mock Elections

Vermont Resources
Contests, Games and Books
Reader's Corner
Great Web Links
Ask the Secretary of State

Vermont has six elective state offices which have a two-year term.  Below are the photographs of the current elected officials as well as links to their homepages.

Governor Phil Scott

Phil Scott

Lieutenant Governor David Zuckerman

Lieutenant Governor
David Zuckerman

Treasurer Beth Pearch

State Treasurer
Elizabeth Pearce


Secretary of State
James C. Condos


Auditor of Accounts
Douglas R. Hoffer


Attorney General T.J. Donovan

Attorney General
T.J. Donovan

The General Assembly, under the U.S. Constitution, is made up of the Senate and the House of Representatives.  Each member serves for a term of two years.  There are 30 members in the Senate and 150 members in the House of Representatives. 
More information on the General Assembly 

United States Senate and House of Representatives
Vermont has two U.S. Senators and one U.S. Representative.  Under the U.S. Constitution, every state has two senators and representatives are determined by the state's population with every state having at least one representative.

Senator Patrick Leahy

U.S. Senator
Patrick Leahy

Congressman Bernie Sanders

U.S. Senator
Bernie Sanders

U.S. Representative
Peter Welch



  © 2006 State of Vermont
  All rights reserved

                           Parents & Teachers     Accessibility Policy     Privacy Policy