Speakers of the House

Joseph Bowker,[1] 1778

Nathan Clark, 1778

Thomas Chandler Jr.,[2] 1778-1780

Samuel Robinson, 1780

Thomas Porter,[3] 1780-1782

Increase Moseley, 1782-1783

Isaac Tichenor, 1783-1784

Nathaniel Niles, 1784-1785

Stephen R. Bradley, 1785-1786

John Strong,[4] 1786 

Gideon Olin, 1786-1793

Daniel Buck, 1793-1795

Lewis R. Morris, 1795-1797

Abel Spencer, 1797-1798

Daniel Farrand, 1798-1799 

Amos Marsh, 1799-1802

Abel Spencer, 1802-1803

Theophilus Harrington, 1803-1804

Aaron Leland, 1804-1808

Dudley Chase, 1808-1813

Daniel Chipman, 1813-1815

William A. Griswold, 1815-1819

Richard Skinner, 1818-1819

William A. Griswold, 1819-1820

D. Azro A. Buck,[5] 1820-1822

George E. Wales, 1822-1824

Issac Fletcher, 1824

D. Azro A. Buck, [6] 1825-1826

Robert B. Bates, 1826-1829

D. Azro A. Buck, 1829-1830

Robert B. Bates, 1830-1831

John Smith, 1831-1834

Ebenezer N. Briggs, 1834-1836

Carlos Coolidge, 1836-1837

Solomon Foot, 1837-1839

Carlos Coolidge, 1839-1842

Andrew Tracy, 1842-1845

Ebenezer N. Briggs, 1845-1847

Solomon Foot, 1847-1848

William C. Kittredge, 1848-1850

Thomas E. Powers, 1850-1853

Horatio Needham, 1853-1854

George W. Grandey, 1854-1857

George F. Edmunds, 1857-1860

Augustus P. Hunton, 1860-1862

J. Gregory Smith, 1862-1863

Abraham B. Gardner, 1863-1865

John W. Stewart, 1865-1868

George W. Grandey, 1868-1870

Charles H. Joyce, 1870-1872

Franklin Fairbanks, 1872-1874

H. Henry Powers,[7] 1874

Josiah Grout, 1874-1876

John W. Stewart, 1876-1878

James L. Martin, 1878-1884

James K. Batchelder, 1884-1886

Josiah Grout, 1886-1890

Henry R. Start,[8] 1890

Hosea A. Mann, Jr., 1890-1892

William W. Stickney, 1892-1896

William A. Lord,[9] 1896-1898

Kittredge Haskins, 1898-1900

Fletcher D. Proctor, 1900-1902

John H. Merrifield, 1902-1906

Thomas C. Cheney, 1906-1910

Frank E. Howe, 1910-1912

Charles A. Plumley, 1912-1915

John E. Weeks, 1915-1917

Stanley C. Wilson,[10] 1917

Charles S. Dana, 1917-1921

Franklin S. Billings, 1921-1923

Orlando L. Martin, 1923-1925

Roswell M. Austin, 1925-1927

Loren R. Pierce, 1927-1929

Benjamin Williams, 1929-1931

Edward H. Deavitt, 1931-1933

George D. Aiken, 1933-1935

Ernest E. Moore, 1935-1937

Mortimer R. Proctor, 1937-1939

Oscar L. Shepard, 1939-1941

Lee E. Emerson, 1941-1943

Asa S. Bloomer, 1943-1945

Joseph H. Denny, 1945-1947

Winston L. Prouty, 1947-1949

J. Harold Stacey, 1949-1951

Wallace M. Fay, 1951-1953

Consuelo N. Bailey, 1953-1955

John E. Hancock, 1955-1957

Charles H. Brown, 1957-1959

F. Ray Keyser Jr., 1959-1961

Leroy Lawrence, 1961-1963

Franklin S. Billings Jr., 1963-1965

Richard W. Mallary, 1966-1969

John S. Burgess, 1969-1971

Walter L. Kennedy, 1971-1975

Timothy J. O'Connor, 1975-1981

Stephan A. Morse, 1981-1985

Ralph Wright, 1985-1995

Michael J. Obuchowski, 1995-2001

Walter E. Freed, 2001-2005

Gaye Symington, 2005-2009

Shap Smith, 2009-2017

Mitzi Johnson, 2017-

<back to top>


[1] Bowker was elected both Rutland representative and to the executive council. Elected speaker on March 12th, he resigned the 13th to assume his seat on the council. Clark was elected speaker on the 13th.

[2] Chandler demonstrates the blurring of the separation of powers in early Vermont government. Elected as Chester town representative in March 1778, he was elected secretary of state by the General Assembly and was appointed secretary to the executive council that same month. In October 1778, he resigned as secretary of state and was elected speaker, while also being elected a member of the newly constituted superior court. Still serving as town representative and speaker, Chandler was elected to the executive council in 1779 and 1780. On March 10, 1780, Samuel Robinson was appointed speaker because Chandler was serving on the council. Re-elected speaker on October 12, 1780, Chandler resigned on October 16th to resume his duties on the executive council. That same day Porter was elected speaker.

[3] Thomas Porter resigned as speaker on October 11, 1782 after he was elected to the executive council. Increase Moseley was elected to take his place.

[4] John Strong served one day (October 12, 1786) as speaker. He resigned when he was elected to the executive council. Gideon Olin became speaker on October 13, 1786 and served until 1793.

[5] D. Azro Buck resigned as speaker November 11, 1822 because his recent election as U.S. Representative was considered incompatible with the office of speaker. George E. Wales took Buck’s place as speaker and served until November 15, 1824 when he resigned. (Wales was elected as a U.S. Representative and began serving in 1825). Issac Fletcher became speaker on November 15, 1824 and served until the legislature recessed on November 19, 1824.

[6] D. Arzo Buck resigned November 8, 1826 because of his election to the U.S. House. Robert B. Bates succeeded him.

[7] On November 17, 1874 Powers was elected to the supreme court, resigning as speaker on November 24th. Josiah Grout was elected speaker on the 24th and the House adjourned on the 25th. Grout served as speaker during the special session of January, 1875.

[8] Henry Start resigned as speaker on November 25, 1890 after his election to the supreme court. Hosea Mann, Jr. was elected speaker on the 25th; the House adjourned on the 26th.

[9] William A. Lord resigned May 5, 1898 during the special session. He held the offices of National Bank Examiner and the United States Circuit Court Commissioner, which were incompatible with the office of speaker. Kittredge Haskins was elected speaker immediately following Lord’s resignation on May 5th.

[10] Stanley Wilson resigned as speaker on April 12, 1917 upon his election to the superior court. Charles S. Dana was elected speaker on the 12th and the House adjourned on the 12th.

This page was last updated: 2018-02-13