Vital Records

The Office of Vital Records within the Vermont Department of Health is responsible for the Statewide Registration System.

For more information or questions related to vital records or recent changes in the vital records laws, please contact the Vermont Department of Health at 800-439-5008 (within VT) or 802-863-7275 or email: VitalRecnullords@vernullmont.govnull.

Certified Copies

Birth and death records (all years) and marriage, civil union and divorce records (2013 and earlier) may be requested from the Vermont State Archives and Records Administration (VSARA) through the Vital Records Request Service or in personForm VSARA-09 may be used for marriages/civil unions and divorces only.

  • Certified copies of vital records cost $10.00 per certification. Authenticating a certificate for foreign use (e.g. Apostille) is an additional $10.00.
  • All requests are processed within a week. Expedited shipping of records is also available at an additional charge if requested through the Vital Records Request Service. Expedited orders will be shipped overnight on the day your certified copy is issued.

 

Vital Records Available at Town Clerk Offices

Certified copies of birth and death records may be requested from any town clerk in the State of Vermont in addition to the Vermont Department of Health and the Vermont State Archives and Records Administration (VSARA). Certified copies of marriage records (all years) can also be requested from the clerk of the town where the event took place. 

Vital Records Available at the Department of Health

Certified copies of birth and death records may be requested from the Vermont Department of Health in addition to any town clerk in the State of Vermont and the the Vermont State Archives and Records Administration (VSARA). Certified copies of marriages (2014 and later), including any amendments and corrections to records, can only be requested from the Vermont Department of Health and, for all years, the town clerk of the town where the event took place. Certified copies of divorce records (2014 and later), dissolution records (all years) and foreign-born births (all years) can only be requested from the Department of Health.

This page was last updated: 2019-07-15