Certifications & Fees
By statute, the State Archivist has responsibilities to provide certified copies of certain public records upon request. Any record in the State Archives can also be certified as a true copy of the original record. Unless otherwise specified by statute, the fee is $5.00 for each original certificate issued. Records most commonly requested for certification include vital records and student transcripts.
On behalf of the Secretary of State, the Vermont State Archives and Records Administration authenticates for foreign use Vermont notarized documents and certified copies of public records. The fee is $10.00; please see “Apostilles & Authentications” for more details.
Non-certified copies of records in the State Archives are available at actual cost. Fees for copies are calculated under the Uniform Schedule of Public Records Charges for State Agencies. For more information about copies of records in the State Archives, please see “Information for Researchers.”